Bipolar II & Binge Eating Disorder (BED)

Okay party people, I binge eat.  Lots.  I can down the amount of calories normal people have over days and eat it in a 2o minutes.  It’s like food that is orgasmic for weeks then I eat so much and drain our bank account so far that I detest that food and move onto the next one.  Oh the psychological, physical and pleasure center layers that exist with this!  I can’t even begin to sort it.  I’m telling you this because in a few months I’m making a big decision.  I’ve tried a several weight loss plans, medically supported, too.  What happens is that when I go into a period of depression or a mixed episode that all my goodwill and ambition to lose goes out the window.  I hate the way my body feels.  Even my taste buds change.  Most of the time I love veggies, but when my buds change with the fluctuations in my mood, healthy foods that I normally love cause a gag reflex.

The drugs I take in case you are wondering are:

  • Lithium
  • Nardil (old school drug – has to be refrigered and weird diet – MAOI) – Many chemists don’t know what this is and have to special order it (refrigeration req’d)
  • Thyrozine (thyroid meds) (refrigeration req’d)
  • Immovane (sleep – sometimes works, sometimes doesn’t)
  • Adavan (only occasionally for severe anxiety)

This mix works pretty well for me.  I have gained 25 lbs (about 10 kilos) from my latest 2 weeks of bingeing.  It took me 8 weeks to lose that much.  The lithium causes weight gain, too. Doc mentioned a drug called Vyvance today.  The review on its site are AWESOME and HORRIBLE.  It’s like there’s no in between.  If I can take the drug, I would have to go off my Nardil because it’s an MAOI. I’d like to see if I can try it before I can go the surgical route, but I don’t know if it’s wise to get off of Nardil because it works well for me.

I’m going for another consult for weight loss surgery in a couple weeks.  I don’t know what the answer is, but I’m not happy with my weight.  I’m not happy with the feelings of being out of control with food.  I’m an addict.  No doubt.  I checked out a nonprofit place for eating disorders, but their waiting list is super long.  Once concern I have for the surgery is that I hear it can push you to depression because of the food deprivation and side effects like vomiting and having to eat tiny bites.  I’ll see what they say.  Toodles.

FUN. SHIT. BIPOLARIFIC (II that is).

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Binge Eating, Meds

Leave a Reply

